Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
UT nursing badge

Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)


Effective Fall 2018, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville will no longer admit students to the Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) for the following concentrations: Family Nurse Practitioner, Nurse Administration, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, and Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner.

As the healthcare system continues to evolve, APRNs will assume greater authority and independence for providing a broader range of clinical care than ever before. The University of Tennessee, Knoxville College of Nursing’s move to the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) as entry into advanced practice is congruent with the national trend to empower nurses and advance the profession.

For more information about the DNP clinical concentrations, please visit the DNP section of our website.

The Nurse Anesthesia concentration continues to be offered as an MSN, but will transition to a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) in 2020.  Details about the Nurse Anesthesia DNP transition will be posted to the website when available.


Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

MSN programs in the College of Nursing are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and are unconditionally approved by the Tennessee Board of Nursing. The nurse anesthesia concentration is also accredited by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Programs.