Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Past Award Recipients

Dr. Sylvia E. Hart Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients:

Named in honor of the founding dean of The University of Tennessee College of Nursing, the Dr. Sylvia E. Hart Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an outstanding graduate who has achieved a high level of distinction in the nursing profession and service to the college.

Janice Mckinley, 2003

Vickie M. Moore, 2004

Margaret Heins Laning, 2005

Jan McNally, 2006

Laurie Acred-Natelson, 2007

Michelle Witten, 2008

Lydia Weathersby, 2008

Laura P. Barnes, 2009

Joan L. Creasia, 2010

Joseph S. Emert, 2010

Nancy P. Schulz, 2011

Sharon Tanner, 2012

Maureen Groer, 2013

Peggy Pierce, 2014

Sandra Thomas, 2015

Rita Silen, 2016

Laura Beth Brown, 2017

Teresa Levey, 2018

Lisa Reed, 2019

Robin Smith, 2020

Mary Lynn Brown, 2021


Fabulous 40 Nursing Alumni Recipients:

The Fabulous 40—forty outstanding College of Nursing alumni—have been nominated and selected because of how they make a difference in the lives of individual patients, organizations, and/or the community. The awardees are recognized tonight for EXCELLENCE in nursing and health care, LEADERSHIP in advancing the nursing profession, and INNOVATION in professional nursing.

Cynthia Abraham

Lesley Adkison

G. Rumay Alexander

Matthew Bell

Jewell Birdwell
Donna Boyd
Laura Beth Brown

Victoria Cannington

Patricia Chaloux

Cheryl Daugherty

Rebecca Davidson

Becky Fields

Ben Francisco

Wendy Franklin

Maureen Groer

Derenda Hodge

Elizabeth Jesse

Jo M. Kendrick

Sandy Lassiter

Roberta Lavin

Terri M. Marin

Kim Massey

Bruce McLaughlin

Jan McNally

Jeff Mills

Betty Nash

Deborah Persell

John Preston

Theresa Renfro

Shannon Richmond

Felecia Rivers

Karen Roden

Alice Royce
Mona Shattell

Rita F. Silen
Mary Sowell

Sandra Wade
Lisa Wagoner

Kathleen Walker

Diane Whaley