Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Recent Faculty Accolades

Samereh Abdoli was accepted for participation in the Early Career Reviewer program at the Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health.

Laurie Acred-Natelson was the recipient of the Tennessee Organization of Nurse Executives (TONE) Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award during the 2016 Tennessee Hospital Association Annual meeting in Nashville.

Joel G. Anderson received a visiting international academic fellowship from the University of Exeter in the United Kingdom to support his ongoing collaboration with researchers in there in the Centre for Research in Ageing and Cognitive Health.

Joel G. Anderson, Xueping Li, and Karen Rose received funding from the Kavli Foundation to support phase I development of an app aimed at supporting of patients with dementia and their family caregivers.

Lora Beebe has been named to the American Academy of Nursing’s 2017 Class of New Fellows.

Edelyn Bishop accepted the role of faculty advisor for the Ambassadors for Mental Health Awareness and Suicide Prevention program.

Julie Bonom received the 2017 Recent Alumna Award from UT Health Science Center.

Sharon Davis received the Maureen Nalle Leadership Award on behalf of the Tennessee Nurses Association, District 2.

Terri Durbin was selected as one of the inaugural Experience Learning faculty fellows at UT.

Susan Fancher earned her MS in medical simulation from Drexel University School of Medicine.

Sally Helton received the 2017 Visionary Voice Award from the National Sexual Violence Resource Center for her work to end sexual violence.

Mary Jane Johnson received the Service Award for her significant time, effort, and service to the Tennessee Nurses Association District 2.

Rebecca Koszalinski was awarded the Tennessee Nurses Association District 2 Scholarship Award for her significant contribution to the advancement of nursing.

Lisa Lindley was promoted to associate professor and was selected to co-chair the Measuring What Matters—Electronic Clinical Quality Measures Committee and the Quality Improvement Scientific Subcommittee for the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association. She was also selected to attend the Cornell University­–National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect Summer Research Institute.

Jeremy Mills was elected president of the Tennessee chapter of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association.

Sandy Mixer was selected by the May graduating class to receive the Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award.

Carole Myers was on sabbatical from January through July. During that time she was appointed a senior fellow of the Center for Health Policy and Media Engagement at George Washington University College of Nursing. She was also one of four faculty members selected nationally to participate in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing Faculty Policy Intensive. She launched a twice-monthly radio spot called HealthConnections on WUOT, UT’s National Public Radio affiliate, airing during Morning Edition and All Things Considered. She was also appointed to the Tennessee General Assembly Scope of Practice Task Force and elected to serve as co-chair. She attended the American Nurses Association Membership Assembly as the elected representative for the Tennessee Nurses Association. Myers is the continuing chair of the Finance Committee of the Sertoma Center and serves on the national Nurses on Boards Coalition State Strategy and Implementation Advisory Committee.

Karen Rose was honored as a visiting professor by Shandong University College of Nursing in Shandong, China, in June as she was there lecturing their undergraduate and graduate students in gerontological nursing.

Rachel Ross received the Social Worker of the Year award from the Tennessee chapter of the National Association of Social Workers for her work in integrated health care with the interprofessional team at the Vine School Health Center.

Shelia Swift was honored with the Regional Cooperative for Professional Nurses Week Clinical Excellence Award.

Sheila Taylor was awarded the Tennessee Nurses Association District 2 Clinical Award for outstanding clinical skills and significant contributions to nursing practice.